Mpumalanga government pleased to receive four clean audit reports

Font size: Decrease font Enlarge font
Auditor-General Terence Nombembe Auditor-General Terence Nombembe

Four of the 13 municipalities nationwide that received clean audits from the Auditor General for the 2010/2011 financial year are based in Mpumalanga.

"We are happy and welcome the Auditor-General's report. This makes our province the top in the country for having received four unqualified audit reports," said Mpumalanga MEC for Cooperative Governance and Traditional Affairs (Cogta) Madala Masuku at a media briefing in Skukuza on Tuesday.
However, he said there was still more work to be done. “We have set up a team from Cogta and the provincial treasury to help those municipalities that didn't do well. Reports have been received from such municipalities."

Mpumalanga has 21 municipalities. Four got unqualified audit reports with no emphasis, namely the Ehlanzeni District Municipality, Gert Sibande District Municipality, Steve Tshwete Local Municipality and Victor Khanye Local Municipality.

“These municipalities are leading and torchbearers for our goal of clean audits by 2014. Their splendid performance is worthy to be emulated by other municipalities and they need to keep up their record, even after 2014," said Masuku.

Seven municipalities got unqualified reports with emphasis, three got qualified audit reports and seven municipalities got disclaimers.

Masuku said the AG found unauthorised expenditure amounting to R384 million, irregular expenditure amounting to R285 million and fruitless and wasteful expenditure amounting to R10 million.

"As we know, for municipalities that don't perform, there must be penalties," said Masuku.
He said the provincial task team would visit the poor performers and address the issues raised by the AG.

He warned that municipalities that did not improve even after help from the province would face harsh recommendations, like removing the managers.

The municipalities that got unqualified audit reports with emphasis are: Nkangala District Municipality and the Bushbuckridge, Emakhazeni, Nkomazi, Govan Mbeki, Msukaligwa and Mbombela Local Municipalities.

Unqualified audit reports were received by the Dipaliseng, Emalahleni and Thembisile Hani Local Municipalities.

Those that received disclaimers included Chief Albert Luthuli, Dr. JS Moroka, Lekwa, Mkhondo, Dr Pixley Ka Seme, Umjindi and Thaba Chweu Local Municipalities.

Read more on:

Government of South Africa  |  Mbombela  |  Government Spending
Nedbank Corporate and Investment Banking

  • Email to a friend Email to a friend
  • Print version Print version


Please enter your e-mail address below and click 'Subscribe'.